Our People

FAME has one full-time and two part-time staff members based in South Australia and an independent Board of Directors who oversee the governance of the organisation.

Directors are elected for a tenure of 2 years at which stage they must stand for re-election at the AGM. Voting members may nominate for Board positions at the AGM.

Of course all this work is only made possible by donations from our passionate and loyal supporters.

Christopher Chapman

Board Member - President

Barrister and Solicitor:  NSW, Victoria, ACT, High Court of Australia (Full practicing certificate NSW)
Board Member since 2005

Tim Rogers

Board Member - Vice-President

BArch, BA,  BEnvDes
Farmer, Architect, Businessman
Board member since 2009

Over the last two decades Tim has been an active member of a number of farming and conservation organisations including presiding for 6 years as the chairman of the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Rabbit-Free Australia.

Dr Diana Beal

Board Member - Teasurer

Graduate Certificate in Forest Science, PhD, M. Phil, Grad. Dip. Local & Applied Hist., B. Com., B. Econ. (retired)
Board member since 2012

Diana’s fields of interest are in the use of natural resources, finances and planning, ethical investment and micro-economics and the management of business. Diana is particularly concerned that other species with which we share our lands are considered when development decisions are made. Other species require supporters so that respect is given to their needs; the alternative is that they are neglected and eventually lose the battle for survival. Diana actively supports many environmental organisations, particularly those that buy and manage large parcels of land for ecosystem diversity.

Margaret Wilksch

Board Member

Company Director / Land Manager & Consultant
Board member since 2001

Formerly on Board of Greening Australia SA. Presently Board member of the Goolwa to Wellington LAP Ass. (past Chair, now Treasurer) and on the Board of the Adelaide Hills Farmers Market Inc.  Margaret attributes her lifelong interest in the environment to an early childhood spent exploring the Murray River and flood plains. She became a dairy farmer soon after her marriage, later a stud beef cattle breeder and today runs a small farm and Gelbvieh Stud. She has been re-vegetating her farms all her life. Margaret strongly believes that we need our small fauna living in our native bush, and so is passionate to do all she can to preserve and enhance our precious environment.

Dr Fred Ford

Board Member

BSc (Hons), PhD (Evolutionary ecology)
Board member since 2012

Fred is the Biodiversity and Sustainable Landscapes National Program Manager/Assistant Director at the Directorate of Heritage and Biodiversity Conservation, Defence Support Group Canberra and the Australian Regional Coordinator for the IUCN Small Non-volant Mammal Specialist Group. He is also a Panel member of the ACT Government Mulligans Flat Woodland Sanctuary Species Management Panel and Visiting scientist: at CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems Canberra.  Fred’s research focus lies in Australian Rodents and small mammal communities with the successful use of reintroductions for ecological benefit being a key interest. He is currently writing a book on the fate of John Gould’s mammals for the National Library of Australia.

John Hender

Board Member

Board member since 2012

John is the National Manager of Native Title Trusts for Perpetual Private. He has worked in the financial services industry for over 25 years, initially offering advice to clients as a financial planner followed by managing financial planning and superannuation organisations for the past 15 years. His experience and qualifications put him at the fore-front of the advice community today. 

John has held various Not For Profit national and international board positions including Chairman of the Make A Wish Foundation International board, board member of the Leukaemia Foundation and a current board member of The Medical Research Foundation of SA, a position he has held for 10 years. He was a founding committee member of the Sporting Shooters Hunting and Conservation branch and was heavily involved in the feral control programme in the Flinders Ranges for a number of years. John is a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company directors having successfully completed the Company Directors course.

Bruce Jackson

Board Member

Environmental Technologies
Board Member since 1993

Bruce was an employee and later a Director of Earth Sanctuaries Ltd from 1991 to 2005.  He was the instigator of the Earth Sanctuaries Foundation, the precursor to FAME.  Bruce is currently employed in the technological area of environmental monitoring and habitat supplementation.  He also is the current Treasurer and Board member of Landscape Partnerships Inc., an environmental stewardship organisation.

Peter W Kay

Board Member

Chairman, Executive Task Force for the Western Quoll & Brush-tailed Possum Reintroduction Project
Board member since 2016

Michael Willson AM KSJ

Board Member

Company Director (retired)
Board member since 2002

Michael has been in involved in FAME for a number of years, 9 of these as President (up to 2014). He has steered FAME towards addressing big picture issues across the Australian landscape.

He has also been involved in a number of conservation organisations including Green Australia SA and has input into policy development on conservation and Tourism. Michael's achievements have been recognised in many ways including Life Memberships, a lifetime National Parks gold pass, a Member of the Order of Australia AM and recently a Knighthood in the Order of St John.

Elizabeth Davis

Board Member

Fundraising Consultant
Board member since 2015

Elizabeth has more than 35 year’s working within the not for profit sector.  Prior to establishing emdf Consultancy in 2006, her expertise was developed through managerial roles within the health, scientific, arts and disability sectors. emdf Consultancy provides expertise to a wide range of not-for-profit organisations, auditing of philanthropy and fund development to undertaking major gift and capital campaigns.

Elizabeth is also a national board member for: Community Business Bureau (CBB); Fundraising Institute of Australia (FIA); and President of the Fundraising Institute of Australia (SA/NT Committee).

Elizabeth was awarded a Paul Harris Fellow for service to the community by the Rotary Club of Adelaide in 2009.